Home » About


The Faculty of Humanities and Letters comprises six departments and two teaching units.  The departments of American Culture and Literature, Archaeology, English Language and Literature, Philosophy, and Translation and Interpretation all have Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) programs.  In addition, the Department of Turkish Literature offers graduate programs leading to Master of Arts (M.A.) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degrees, while the Department of Archaeology and Department of Philosophy have M.A. programs with thesis work, and the Department of Translation and Interpretation has a non-thesis MA program in Conference Interpretation.

The Faculty also houses two non-degree-granting units (FRL and CCI) which offer university-wide service courses. Foreign Languages unit offers French, German, Italian, Japanese, Russian, Spanish, Chinese, Arabic, Persian, Korean, Hebrew and Turkish language for foreigners. The Cultures, Civilizations and Ideas unit offers humanities courses to students from various departments in the university.The Turkish Unit (TURK) offers mandatory Turkish writing courses to all students who are Turkish nationals.